Home > abortion, pro-life, reproductive rights > Applauding anti-abortion activists? Ugh.

Applauding anti-abortion activists? Ugh.

That’s what’s happening in Washington! Bush is thanking these people for their continuous work and “calling for continued vigilance.” Are we glad that Bush isn’t going to be the President of the United States of America much longer? Yes infinity.

“We’re heartened by the news that the number of abortions is declining, but the most recent data reports that more than one in five pregnancies end in abortion. America is better than this, so we will continue to work for a culture of life,” Bush said.

So, Bush, are you saying that everyone who gets an abortion is not suited for America and essentially a “bad” person? I cannot express my frustration into words.

I really think I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again – there is no need for anti-abortion activists. Firstly, anti-abortion activists are not set out to improve the quality of life for everyone. Secondly, they do not have to get abortions. Everyone can respect that. But they need to respect the decisions of other women who do choose to have an abortion, which is probably for a variety of reasons. Do people not understand that? Are they that ignorant?

  1. Jay
    January 22, 2008 at 7:30 pm

    Maybe in the Civil War era you would be one of those people claiming that some people just need to respect the decision of other slaveholders?

    Life, like slavery, is a moral issue. A human rights issue. It’s much deeper than a woman’s “choice”.

  2. January 23, 2008 at 12:40 am

    Hm. Not going to say much here, but maybe you didn’t quite get what I was getting at. And…you really didn’t have to attack me 😉 And no, I wouldn’t have been one of those people who would say we have to respect the decision of “other” slaveholders.

    And I have no problem with you have your opinion and feelings about this issue. It’s fine with me that you’re against abortion, but I will always have the stance that there doesn’t need to be anti-abortion activists. It seems pretty logical to me! But I respect your stance. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Jay
    January 24, 2008 at 8:08 pm

    Did American need civil rights activists? I think the unborn deserve someone to speak for them.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

