Home > church, gender, masculinity, men > The church is “feminized”?

The church is “feminized”?

Oh lucky me that I came across this! First, quote of the day:

Men today need to experience Christ in all of His masculinity and power, and they need to do so in a context that speaks their language in the company of other men.

Seriously? Anyone who has any knowledge of the gospels knows that Jesus Christ represents a much more feminine take on things. People could very well disagree with me. But personally, I’ve always looked at the Old Testament God being a more “masculine” manifest, while Christ in the New Testament is the more “feminine” manifest of God. But that could just be me. I simply get this interpretation from my own reading of the Bible.

Anyway, the article goes on to talk about how the church is “feminized” and pretty much how it’s the most horrible thing ever. Men need to take back the church! Ignore women’s needs! You know? Please, men have had the church ever since it’s conception and they continue to have it. Until all denominations and the Catholic church decides to ordain women, men have all the control. And even when women are allowed to be ordained, there will always be more men on the pulpit than women. I have no doubt about that.

Here’s a description of a “modern” church today (and this is something that’s negative, I guess):

Look at a typical Canadian church today: most volunteer roles are filled by women. The sanctuary is normally decorated in soft colours, with draped baptisteries and large floral arrangements. More than half of those seated in the sanctuary are female. A disproportionate number of married women attend church without their husbands. When it comes to worship, many of the newer choruses sound more like crossover love songs and often speak of being in someone’s eternal embrace. Most men find it difficult, if not impossible, to relate to these songs since it’s not how they normally think or speak.

I would just like to say that there are more women volunteers because those volunteer positions are undervalued and women in the church feel like they can’t do anything else. They only feel like they can teach Sunday School, do the nursery and be a part (but not the leader) of the worship team. As well, I personally haven’t seen this church that is described. I’m a pastor’s kid, and I have been to many, many churches in my life, and they are not “decorated in soft colours, with draped baptisteries and large floral arrangement.”

All just my opinion…but, I call bullshit.

Categories: church, gender, masculinity, men Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

