Home > education, gender > Hm. That’s an idea.

Hm. That’s an idea.

I know same sex education is a sticky thihng for many feminist and ideologies about it are pretty much across the board, but I think this might actually be a good, at least interesting, idea.

Woodbridge Middle School, located in Woodbridge, Virgina, has brought on same-sex classes, while still remaining a very co-ed school. Parents have the option of putting their child in that same-sex class, or they can continue to have their children in the co-ed classes. But for classes such as art or music, it’s still co-ed for everyone.

This year, about 180 sixth-grade students at Woodbridge are enrolled in all-girl or all-boy classes this year for the core subjects of math, language arts, science and social studies. Classes in art, music, physical education and other subjects are still co-ed. And about 120 sixth-graders are in the more traditional co-ed classes for all of their subjects.

The teachers state that the majority of feedback is positive and plan on doing it for the next year as well.

Personally, I think this is a great option. I would love to see more and more public schools doing this, because I think the co-ed environment is good and important, but we all know learning styles are different and there’s less distraction in the classroom if it’s just one sex, instead of two. As well, I imagine girls would feel less intimidated and participate more. But I know that many may disagree with me, so feel free!

Currently, there are 363 public schools in the United States that offer same-sex classes.

Categories: education, gender Tags: , ,
  1. October 31, 2007 at 11:11 am

    When gendered classrooms are serving as “safe spaces” to allow both genders to explore their lives and feelings without the constraints of gender roles, then I am all for it. But when it’s served to uphold gender role, as it often did historically, then it’s kind of …scary to me.

    I suspect this is the former – and I am happy for it. And it’s in my state, too!

  2. pk
    October 31, 2007 at 11:21 am

    I completely agree with you, which is why I’m definitely in approval of the co-ed school, but the option of single-sex classes!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

